Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Awareness through Movement with Feldenkrais

Hi All!

A random appearance from me..... But I wanted to share something with you, especially those who deal with muscle imbalance, but really all of you.

I recently was made aware of a method developed by Moshe Feldenkrais. Maybe some of you have heard of it before. I had known of the name for years, but never really took time to find out about it.

So, this is a majorly advanced movement and awareness method that I want to recommend to anyone. It's hard to describe "what it is about", I am just beginning to learn myself. One major aspect of Feldenkrais is called "Awareness through movement" (those are group sessions). Another part is called "Functional integrity" (those are one-on-one sessions where the therapist guides the person through movements). It's about becoming aware of how you move, which parts of your body light up when you do something with another part of your body. How eye movement affects the hip position (!!!), and ultimately it is about learning how to move better in the field of gravity. It cannot be separated from our emotions. It is extremely gentle, you never go even close to "the edge" of anything.

Anyways, before I sound too esoteric, let me share these two videos. The first one with a lesson on freeing your hips. For those of you who are really impatient, jump to around the 5 or 6 minute mark and notice how similar it looks to the Ladybug move..... I am sure Teresa knew about Feldenkrais. God bless her soul.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PT6tNq4krhc&t=329s

And the next video is with Moshe Feldenkrais himself in an interview and the most amazing video of him working with a child who had cerebral palsy.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M2_G4NWRnNM&t=979s