Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Amp Up T-Tapp Twist with extra LAT Activation!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amp Up T-Tapp Twist with extra LAT Activation!

Originally posted by Kiona 4/21/2011
    One of the things I love most about T-Tapp and especially about teaching T-Tapp is how it continues to evolve and produce more results for more people. It is one of the most dynamic systems around in that way and as a trainer I get to learn just as much from my students as they do from me. This set of tips is definitely part of that category and comes right out of our Love your Lats series we just wrapped up in Timonium, MD.

In focusing on this move and how to help the students better feel and focus on their Lats I came up with a blend of tips and tricks from several of the various videos and retreats in recent times. The first piece we did was to bring the hands down LOW. I REALLY over emphasized this by bringing them BELOW my chest so they were more at the level of the top of my rib cage, you know, right where the bones actually come together in that little point? Yes to there, now I noticed with my hands this low it was hard to keep them stacked and press straight down, so instead I angled my hands so I could slightly see the back of my hand facing toward me and felt more like I was pushing them OUT. NOW you really feel your Lats!

Next once you have done the pulses to the side with the adjusted hand position you roll down to 4 counts and at the bottom before you roll up, hook the thumb of the front hand (the one in front of your belly as you are bent over) over the outside of the other hand then holding your thumb strong, try to pull the hands apart and you’ll really feel your lats activate. This tip is from a couple years ago at the retreat and wow what a difference. Make sure when you do this, you feel it from the pull in the hands, across the back of the ribs and to your spine BEFORE you roll up.