Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I Don't Wanna!!

Originally posted by Nighean Ruadh 04-21-2010, 03:27 PM

What do you do when you just do not want to workout?

I have been tapping for a little over two years now. I am a member of Habit Formers and have consistently worked out three to five times a week (usually BWO+ or SATI) for most of my tapping history. In general, I have really enjoyed tapping. For the past several months, though, I have not wanted to work out. I still make myself do it, although sometimes it is only twice a week.

I also feel as though I can't hit my max anymore. It seems impossible to get a good, hard tuck (especially when walking) when I used to do it automatically. It's frustrating, because I want to really feel it, even more so since it takes some effort to make myself start the workout in the first place. I just did Tempo Torso, and my legs feel as though they are going to give out. It used to make my abs sore to do even the BWO+ portion of it. Sigh...

Any thoughts? What do you do when you go through a workout slump?

adrianne
    04-21-2010, 03:56 PM

Karen, this is how it works for me. When I really feel that I just can't workout because my body is not up to it, I don't. Forcing myself ends up being counter-productive mentally and physically, for me. When I just listen to my body and take a needed break, I usually come back to Tapping refreshed and eager to get going again.

Also, tucking is usually pretty automatic for me, too. When I find that I can't even get a good tuck while walking or exercising I know that my body is tired, really tired. It's really amazing how sometimes I can tuck really strongly and maintain it well while other times my muscles can't even think about tucking, lol! It's the same thing with keeping proper form in general and going to my max. It just doesn't happen if I am exhausted. For me the key is to listen to my body, not my mind which is often like a bossy drill sergeant!