Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Half Frog Question

Level

Default Half Frog Question

Yay! I graduated from doing 10 Half Frogs at a time to 20 the other day. I definitely feel it in the upper and lower abs. But I also notice really feeling it in my quads. Lots of heat going on there!

I'm definitely curling the core, and making sure I'm not using momentum to bring my legs up. Also pressing lats down and doing W arms & pressing donut hands to the floor. So I'm just checking to see -- is this quad engagement appropriate, or do I need to tweak something?

Also, if what I'm doing is Half Frogs, what's a Whole Frog?

Peace out,
    Sooz
    Carrollton, TX

Level

Do you really want to see a Whole Frog?! LOL!

Are you still feeling it in your abs as well? If you are pressing your thighs together as if there were a ThighMaster there, and pressing them apart the same, lifting using the abs vs. momentum, then you should be fine. I'll defer to a trainer to give the final word on it, but if you're being mindful of not using momentum as you said, and you're staying in the muscle as far as using the abs, pressing that lower back while executing the leg moves, I think it would be okay.

There are HFs on HTF that are more in a sitting position, then there are Full Frogs. There are also Full Frogs on Critter Crunch. It involves extending the legs but not dropping and still keeping your lower back pressed! TOUGH!

Good for the tummy, though, if you can keep it all activated!

HTH!

~ .. )) -::-
    . .))
    ((. .. Trisch -::-
    -::- ((.*

Blessed Mama of 9 (and 14 in Heaven)
    Master T-Tapp Trainer in Northern Indiana, certified in TWO, MORE, HTF, Senior Fit and LadyBug
    (Thank you, Mom and Dad!)
    ISSA Certified Fitness Trainer

From a 22W to a 6!
    My Testimonial Tuesday

"Don't let another priceless moment slip through your fingers because
    you are 'too busy'. While you have the time, take the time."
    ~Crystal Paine~

Level