Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Teens with bad posture

Level

Default Teens with bad posture

My 15 year old daughter has very rounded shoulders, which she unfortunately got from my husband. I'm sorry that I did not pay more attention to this when she was younger, it's just becoming more noticeable now that she's gotten really into clothes and make-up etc., and I'd like so much for her to improve her posture.

She has been sporadically tapping for a few months, mainly BW+, and has agreed that I may remind her to "SLT" (our secret: shoulders, lats, tuck) whenever I remember. (Very sensitive years!) She refuses, however, to do hoedowns with a pile of books on her head

I am hoping that she will workout more, with attention to form, and help from me, and that these reminders will make a difference.

I would love to hear from anyone who has had this experience and had success with improving posture, also advice on how better to achieve this.

SOnja

Level

I'm a band teacher and I have students with TERRIBLE posture. I tell them, shoulders back! Don't slump you look like a slob, we can't have that (nicely.. I promise ). I tend to praise those with excellent posture, or I'll point out someone in the band and show the bad-posture people how much better it looks (say, holding the trombone up and horizontal versus diagonal with a cramped neck.) I stress posture saying it'll help backs, necks, etc.

Might not help too much, but I'm also shocked by the poor posture of teens.

Gretchen

Tappin in MO since June 2005 (purelyoverjoyed's twin sister )

Level